Women's Basketball Team Awards Presented At Banquet

(L to R) Col. Donna Brazil, senior Kait Goodall

(L to R) Col. Donna Brazil, senior Kait Goodall

May 9, 2012

Photo Gallery

WEST POINT, N.Y. - The Army women's basketball team held its annual end-of-season awards banquet on Tuesday, May 8, at Kimsey Athletic Center where head coach Dave Magarity and the team reflected on the 2011-12 campaign and distributed out several postseason awards.

Magarity looked back on his sixth season as Army's head coach and highlighted the Black Knights' strong start to both the regular and Patriot League seasons. Picked to finish seventh in the Patriot League season poll, Army defied the critics, hosting a playoff game and finishing in a tie for third in the final regular-season standings.

Five major awards were on the docket for the evening, beginning with the Col. Fredrick A. Mountford Memorial Award presented to senior co-captains Meagan Doucette and Kait Goodall.

Presented annually to the team captain(s), the Mountford Award is named in honor of Col. Fredrick Mountford, a 1909 West Point graduate who captained the baseball team while also lettering in football. As a father of two daughters, he encouraged young women to participate in athletics, laying the groundwork for this award. In 1979, the Mountford family donated this leadership award to Army Women's Basketball in his memory. Presenting the 2012 edition of the award was 2003 team captain Haley (Edwards) Uthlaut.

The awards ceremony continued with the presentation of the Maj. Gen. Philip H. Draper Award, which is presented to the team's Most Valuable Player. This year, that honor went to junior guard Anna Simmers. The Alaska native finished the season as the Patriot League's leading scorer and was a first team All-Patriot League selection.

Established in 1993, the Draper Award is officially presented during graduation week. Named in memory of Philip H. Draper, a 1929 West Point graduate, the award is funded by the Draper family and was presented for the first time at the graduation awards convocation in 1994. Draper's son, Stephen, was a member of West Point's Class of 1964. His wife, Lucy, was instrumental in the passage of the federal legislation to admit women into the gates at five national service academies. The family stayed at West Point until they had the opportunity to witness the first female cadets sworn in at Trophy Point in 1976.

Goodall took home the Maggie DixonAward, named in memory of the 2005 Patriot League Coach of the Year, who passed away suddenly just one month after her first season (2005-06) at West Point was complete. The award is presented "in recognition of dedication and leadership to the Army Women's Basketball Program" and to an individual that embodies everything that Dixon stood for - passion, determination and a winning attitude. Goodall had more experience than any other player on the court this season, spending time in the starting lineup for three seasons. A native of Lakewood, Colo., Goodall played in 30 games this year and made 17 starts with her strongest performance of the season coming in a Senior Night win over Holy Cross.

With two strong candidates for the annual Defensive Player of the Year award, Magarity and his staff decided to present two - one each to Doucette and sophomore guard Jen Hazlett. Typically asked to shut down the opponent's top perimeter player, Doucette will forever be known for her scrappiness and hustle plays. Hazlett enjoyed a breakout season that saw her rank in the Patriot League's top five in scoring, three-point percentage, rebounds and three-pointers made. She capped a fine 2011-12 with second team All-Patriot League honors. An award only presented when a suitable candidate arises, the Coaches Award was given to senior Erin Jankowski. A three-year letterwinner with the program, injury forced her to the sidelines for her senior campaign where she filled the role of student assistant coach. Magarity noted her perseverance, dedication and commitment to the Black Knights' program on Tuesday night.

The coaching staff selected freshman guard Jordan Elliott to receive the Joy Swanson Award, which is in its sixth year of existence. Named in memory of former Army assistant basketball coach Joy Swanson, who passed away in 2006 after a courageous battle with cancer, the award is presented to a true team player who shows leadership through determination, motivation, patience and selfless service to others on and off the court. Current Army assistant coach Erin Mills, who played for Swanson during her time at Fairleigh Dickinson, presented Elliott with the award. An extremely promising recruit a year ago, injury kept Elliott off the court in 2011-12. She remained a vocal leader and consummate teammate throughout the season, encouraging and helping to coach her teammates the entire way.

The team's only senior players, Doucette and Goodall depart the program, but the Black Knights return three starters, three All-Patriot League performers and their top six scorers in 2012-13.

Maj. Gen. Philip H. Draper Memorial Award - Anna Simmers
Col. Fredrick A. Mountford Memorial Award - Meagan Doucette, Kait Goodall
Joy Swanson Award - Jordan Elliott
Maggie Dixon Award - Kait Goodall
Coaches Award - Erin Jankowski
Defensive Players of the Year - Meagan Doucette, Jen Hazlett

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here