Women's Basketball Celebrates 2013-14 Season With Awards Banquet

Head Coach Dave Magarity and Jen Hazlett

Head Coach Dave Magarity and Jen Hazlett

May 6, 2014

WEST POINT, N.Y. - The Army women's basketball team held its annual end-of-season awards banquet on Tuesday, May 6, at Kimsey Athletic Center where head coach Dave Magarity reflected on the Black Knights' most successful season in program history.

The reigning Patriot League champions, Army set a program Division I record by winning 25 games (25-8), while also finishing 14-4 in conference play, en route to winning its second league title and earning a berth to the NCAA Tournament. Team accolades, including seven major awards, were handed out on Tuesday evening.

The coaching staff selected junior Krishawn Tillett as the recipient of the Joy Swanson Award, which is in its eighth year of existence. Named in memory of former Army assistant basketball coach Joy Swanson, who passed away in 2006 after a courageous battle with cancer, the award is presented to a true team player who shows leadership through determination, motivation, patience and selfless service to others on and off the court. Current Army assistant coach Erin Mills, who played for Swanson during her time at Fairleigh Dickinson, presented Tillett with the award.

Tillett persevered through a rash of injuries during her career to become one of the team's key role players down the stretch. Tillett's breakout performance came against Bucknell on Feb. 15 when she scored a career-best 10 points to help send Army to a 75-63 victory.

Sophomore guard Jean Parker was recognized with the Maggie Dixon Award, named in memory of the 2005-06 Patriot League Coach of the Year, who passed away suddenly just one month after her first season at West Point was complete. The award is presented "in recognition of dedication and leadership to the Army Women's Basketball Program" and to an individual that embodies everything that Dixon stood for - passion, determination and a winning attitude. Dr. Trudy Yavorek presented the award.

Sophomore guard Brianna Johnson was honored as the team's Defensive Player of the Year after being tasked with guarding the opposing team's top perimeter threat night in and night out. Army officer representative Lt. Col. Jeffrey Starke presented the award.

Magarity presented sophomore Bridget Ryan with the team's Coaches' Award, which is reserved for the member of the Army women's basketball team who best practices and supports the team's mission both on and off the court.

Presented annually to the team captain(s), the Col. Frederick A. Mountford Memorial Award is named in honor of Col. Frederick Mountford, a 1909 West Point graduate who captained the baseball team while also lettering in football. As a father of two daughters, he encouraged young women to participate in athletics, laying the groundwork for this award. In 1979, the Mountford family donated this leadership award to Army Women's Basketball in his memory. Presenting the 2014 edition of the award to Jordan Elliott, Jen Hazlett and Olivia Schretzman was head officer representative Col. Diane Ryan.

The recipient of the Maj. Gen. Philip H. Draper Award, which is presented to the team's Most Valuable Player, was sophomore point guard Kelsey Minato after the Huntington Beach, Calif., native won her second straight Patriot League Player of the Year honor. Stephen Draper and his wife Lucy were there to present the award.

Established in 1993, the Draper Award is officially presented during graduation week. Named in memory of Philip H. Draper, a 1929 West Point graduate, the award is funded by the Draper family and was presented for the first time at the graduation awards convocation in 1994. Draper's son, Stephen, was a member of West Point's Class of 1964. His wife, Lucy, was instrumental in the passage of the federal legislation to admit women into the gates at five national service academies. The family stayed at West Point until they had the opportunity to witness the first female cadets sworn in at Trophy Point in 1976.

The ceremony ended with a final award given to a member of Army's support staff who displayed significant efforts in supporting the team and played an important role in preparing the coaches and players for success. Chosen for the honor was Dr. Angie Fifer from the Center for Enhanced Performance. Presenting the award on behalf of the entire coaching staff was associate head coach Colleen Mullen.

2013-14 Army Women's Basketball Team Awards
Joy Swanson Award: Krishawn Tillett
Maggie Dixon Award: Jean Parker
Defensive Player of the Year: Brianna Johnson
Coaches' Award: Bridget Ryan
Mountford Award: Jordan Elliott, Jen Hazlett, Olivia Schretzman
Draper Award: Kelsey Minato
Support Staff Award: Dr. Angie Fifer

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here