Army Collects 21 Year-End Awards From The CSFL

Javier Sustaita

Javier Sustaita

Nov. 19, 2012

WEST POINT, N.Y. – The head coaches of the College Sprint Football League casted their votes over the weekend for the conference’s year-ending honors as Army collected 21 in total, including the Jim Kays League MVP Award. Senior quarterback Javier Sustaita was crowned the CSFL’s top player, with the Black Knights gathering seven All-CSFL first team certificates, six second-team nods and seven honorable mention plaudits.

Sustaita earned the CSFL MVP recognition following another astonishing season in the black and gold, passing for 2,016 yards while completing 160 of 254 passes. Sustaita threw just two interceptions to go along with 22 touchdowns to finish his final campaign at West Point with a 156.7 efficiency rating. The Troy, Texas, native also rushed for three scores, second-most on the team.

Sustaita is Army’s first CSFL MVP since 2008, when wide receiver Geoff Phillips earned the certificate.

The league MVP is not eligible for all-conference honors, yet Army still took home seven first-team certificates, led by senior wide receiver Cody Nyp’s third career nod. Nyp led the Army receiving corps for the third consecutive season, averaging 97 yards per game to go along with seven touchdowns.

Senior running back Marquis Morris was also a repeat first teamer. Morris enjoyed the best season of his career, rushing for over 100 yards on three occasions, including a 102-yard performance in Army’s CSFL Championship win at Navy in the season finale. Morris was able to find the rushing gaps thanks in large part to a pair of first team linemen in seniors Pete Duff and Jacob Risinger. Duff earned second-team honors a season ago, while Risinger was an honorable-mention player in 2011.

On the defensive side of the ball, juniors Patrick Franco and Jack Egan were named to the first team, as was senior co-captain Rob Reckner. Franco ranked sixth on the team with 35 tackles, while his 6.5 sacks were the second best. Egan finished the season ranked fourth in tackles (36), while also recovering two fumbles and tacking on a pair of interceptions.

Reckner had a standout senior season, finishing 2012 with the second-most tackles on the team (43), while sacking the oppositions’ quarterback 3.5 times for a loss of 20 yards. Reckner’s final tackle in an Army uniform may have been the biggest of his career, as he dropped a Midshipmen runner for a loss of five yards, putting the game-tying field goal out of reach for Navy.

Leading the way on the All-CSFL second team was Army’s leading tackler Noah Currie (49 tackles, 7 sacks, 3 FF) and consistent deep threats Tom Jeffers (632 yards, 8 TD) and John Herina (328 yards, 4 TD). Also garnering second-team honors were Anthony Rivera, Jake Steckler and John Barnett.

Army’s seven honorable mention players were OL Vincent Raimondi, OL Richard Price, LB David Brown, DE Thomas White, DB Conor O’Brien, DB Kalaukoa Labonta and kicker Kevin Scruggs. Scruggs capped his senior season with a perfect 41-of-41 on extra-point attempts while averaging over 58 yards per kickoff.

Army defeated Navy, 21-18, on Nov. 2 to finish the season 7-0, capturing its 32nd CSFL title in program history. The Black Knights’ undefeated season was their first since 1994 and 18th overall since the program began in 1957. Army’s 20 all-league honorees and 21 total certificates are the most in program history.

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here