National Lacrosse Hall of Fame
Men's Lacrosse Home

Men's Lacrosse Announces Team Honors

Three Earn All-America Honors From USILA

Somers Named to USILA Scholar All-America Team

Follow all of the college lacrosse action at

Email this to a friend

Former Army Lacrosse Player Elected To Hall Of Fame

June 24, 2003

BALTIMORE, Md. - Former Army attackman Tom Sheckells was selected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame yesterday. The 1965 graduate of the U.S. Military Academy is one of 10 nominees who received the necessary 75 percent of the votes by the U.S. Lacrosse Board of Directors to earn induction into the hallowed hall. The class will officially be inducted during a ceremony on Nov. 22 at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Sheckells, who will be inducted posthumously, becomes the 10th person associated with Army lacrosse to be elected to the Hall of Fame. Tom Cafaro (USMA '71) was the most recent Army inductee, having been honored in 1988. Sheckells joins former teammate Norman Webb (USMA '64), who was inducted in 1983.

The three-time All-American held the Academy's all-time assist mark for 36 years until Tim Pearson eclipsed the former great in 2001. Upon graduation, Sheckells owned two school records and listed second on the all-time scoring charts. The Maryland native currently stands tied for 15th in scoring and second in assists. He was a two-time first team All-America selection in 1964 and 1965, finishing his career with 128 points (48 goals, 80 assists).

Sheckells (1943-2002) entered the Air Force after graduation, eventually resigning his commission as a captain. After leaving the service, he earned a law degree from George Washington University in 1971. For 30 years, Sheckells served as commissioner of the Capital Area Lacrosse Officials Association, and through his work as president of the Potomac Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse, helped develop the sport in the Washington, D.C., area.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame has inducted individuals annually since 1957. It is located in Baltimore, Md., inside historic Homewood Field on the campus of Johns Hopkins University. The mission of the Lacrosse Hall of Fame is to honor men and women, past and present, who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, personify the great contribution of the sport of lacrosse to our way of life.

National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Class of 2003
Name (School)					Category
John Cheek (Washington College)			Player
Aggie Bixler Kurtz (Smith College)		         Player/Coach
Jane Miller (Virginia)				Coach
Alison Hersey Risch 				Official
Jerry Schnydman (Johns Hopkins)			Player
William Scroggs (Johns Hopkins)			Player/Coach
Tom Sheckells (Army)				Player/Official
Bernard Ulman 					Official
Joan Wagner					Official
Merle "Mike" McCallister Werley (West Chester)	Player/Coach

Army Representatives to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Name Induction Class F. Morris Touchstone 1960 Harry Wilson ('28) 1963 Thomas Truxtun ('37) 1970 James "Ace" Adams 1975 James Hartinger ('49) 1975 Robert Miser ('60) 1980 A. Norman Webb ('64) 1983 Pete Cramblet ('70) 1986 Tom Cafaro ('71) 1988 Tom Sheckells ('65) 2003

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here