Lacrosse Distributes Team Awards At Year-End Banquet

John Burk

John Burk

May 29, 2014

WEST POINT, N.Y. - Head coach Joe Alberici and the Army lacrosse family paid tribute to a highly decorated Class of 2014 and distributed 10 team awards at the program's year-end banquet Sunday afternoon at West Point's Kimsey Athletic Center.

Alberici spent the majority of the three-hour affair highlighting the contributions of 10 seniors. The ninth-year mentor focused on the group's outstanding character, unselfishness and commended their leadership on and off the field.

The Class of 2014, which was commissioned during commencement exercises on Wednesday at Michie Stadium, authored is the second class in a row to go undefeated (4-0) against rival Navy and earned a Patriot League Tournament berth all four seasons. The Black Knights closed out 2014 ranked No. 20 in the final United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Coaches Poll.

Along with large spread of food and drinks, provided by the Lacrosse Parents' Club, a room full of family, players and support staff gathered as Major "A" letters were presented to each athlete by position. Following the presentation of the coveted letters, Alberici continued with the official distribution of the team's Player of the Game certificates, along with the mention of four All-Patriot League players and two Patriot League All-Academic Team honorees.

The program then turned to celebrating the senior class as Alberici recounted anecdotes and relived highlights of every senior member's career. The afternoon continued with the presentation of 10 team awards, which are listed below, and concluded with the official announcement of rising seniors John Glesener, Al DeStefano and Ehret Faircloth as the 2014-15 team captains.

Charles H. Coates Top Graduating Student-Athlete Award

Awarded for excellence in the classroom

Presented by Charles Coates to John Burk

Gen. L. E. Seeman Memorial Award
Awarded to the most outstanding freshman

Presented by Alex Daly to Tim Stackpole

Morris Touchstone Coaches Award
Awarded for team spirit and personal sacrifice

Presented by Head Coach Joe Alberici to seniors Nick Isnardi, Kevin Epp and Zeric Butters, along with junior Ehret Faircloth

Gen. George Ruhlen Award
Awarded to the Most Improved Player

Presented by Al DeStefano to Austin Schultz

Steve S. Valhakis Unsung Player Award
Presented by Volunteer Assistant Coach Ted Georgalas to Pat Hart

Gerard F. O'Connor Memorial Award
Awarded to an individual for the best cadet support

Presented by Academic Support Dave Dominic to Alex Brammer

Lt. Ray Enners/Chris Pettit Memorial Award
Awarded to the Top Offensive Player

Presented by Mac Diange to John Glesener

Jack Emmer "Nutcracker" Award
Awarded to the team's Most Physical Player

Presented by Head Coach Joe Alberici to John Burk

Jack Rust Award
Awarded to the Top Defensive Player

Presented by Assistant Coach Kyle Georgalas to Sam Somers

Gen. James V. Hartinger Award
Awarded to the team's Most Valuable Player

Presented by Head Coach Joe Alberici to John Burk

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here