Glesener Among Tewaaraton Award's Top 25 Nominees

John Glesener

John Glesener

April 29, 2013

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Tewaaraton Foundation announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award nominees, presented by Panama Jack, over the weekend and among them was Army sophomore attackman John Glesener. The 2013 Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year made the top-25 cut for the prestigious award, which is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate player.

Five finalists will be announced May 9 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original watch lists were announced Feb. 22 and included Army senior attackman Garrett Thul. With additions made March 14 and April 11, they were ultimately comprised of 97 players. The selection committee is comprised of 12 current and former coaches.

"We congratulate these elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month."

One of two sophomores to make the top-25 cut, Glesener became the first Army player since first team All-American Jeremy Boltus to win the league's Offensive Player of the Year award. He also garnered first team All-Patriot League laurels.

Army's points leader with 60 tallies (31G, 29A), Glesener leads the Patriot League and ranks fifth in the country averaging 4.62 points per game. A preseason All-America pick, he has started all 13 games and registered seven hat tricks. Glesener reached a career-high eight points (4G, 4A) in a win over Lafayette on March 23 and registered a career-best five goals in a 10-4 win at Colgate on March 30. The Camillus, N.Y., native earned Patriot League Offensive Player of the Week honors following both standout performances.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and

2013 Tewaaraton Award Top 25 Nominees

Niko Amato, Maryland - Jr., GK
Peter Baum, Colgate - Sr., A
Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland - Sr., LSM
David DiMaria, Lehigh - Sr., A
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins - Sr., D
John Glesener, Army - So., A
Marcus Holman, North Carolina - Sr., A
Austin Kaut, Penn State - Jr., GK
John Kemp, Notre Dame - Sr., GK
Eric Law, Denver - Sr., A
Brandon Mangan, Yale - Jr., A
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse - Sr., M
Kieran McArdle, St. John's - Jr., A
Brian Megill, Syracuse - Sr., D
Steve Mock, Cornell - Sr., A
Rob Pannell, Cornell - Sr., A
Mason Poli, Bryant - Sr., LSM
Scott Ratliff, Loyola - Sr., LSM
Mike Sawyer, Loyola - Sr., A
Tom Schreiber, Princeton - Jr., M
Logan Schuss, Ohio State - Sr., A
Lyle Thompson, Albany - So., A
Ty Thompson, Albany - Jr., A
Dillon Ward, Bellarmine - Sr., GK
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Jr., A

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse players in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here