Glesener Named A Tewaaraton Award Top 25 Nominee

Junior attackman John Glesener

Junior attackman John Glesener

April 25, 2014

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men's and women's top 25 nominees, presented by Panama Jack, Friday night and for the second year in a row, Army attackman John Glesener earned a nod. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights contenders for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award.

A first team All-Patriot League performer, Glesener leads the team with 44 points on 32 goals and 12 assists. Heading into tonight's Patriot League Tournament Semifinal game versus Lehigh, he is riding a 27-game point scoring streak and owns 13 career hat tricks. The Camillus, N.Y., native has totaled 138 career points to rank 15th in program history. His 59 career assists land 14th all time.

Glesener is one of four players out of the Patriot League to make the top 25 list, joining Joe Fletcher, Nikko Pontrello and Justin Ward of Loyola.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation. The 14th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 29, 2014, in Washington, D.C. John Walker '06 and Jeremy Boltus '11 represent Army's two past Tewaaraton Award finalists.

2014 Men's Top 25 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Niko Amato, Maryland - Sr., G
Wesley Berg, Denver - Jr., A
Connor Buczek, Cornell - Jr., M
Mike Chanenchuk, Maryland - Sr., M
Deemer Class, Duke - Soph., M
Mark Cockerton, Virginia - Sr., A
Joe Fletcher, Loyola - Sr., D
John Glesener, Army - Jr., A
Myles Jones, Duke - Soph., M
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Soph., A
Jesse King, Ohio State - Jr., M
John LoCascio, Villanova - Sr., LSM/D
Kevin Massa, Bryant - Jr., F/O
Kieran McArdle, St. John's - Sr., A
Ben McIntosh, Drexel - Sr., M
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Sr., D
Jeremy Noble, Denver - Sr., M
Nikko Pontrello, Loyola - Jr., A
Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Jr., A
Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Jr., A
Tom Schreiber, Princeton - Sr., M
Randy Staats, Syracuse - Jr., A/M
Wells Stanwick, Hopkins - Jr., A
Lyle Thompson, Albany - Jr., A
Miles Thompson, Albany - Sr., A
Gunnar Waldt, Bryant - Soph., G
Justin Ward, Loyola - Sr., A
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Sr., A

For information on attending the Tewaaraton Ceremony on May 29 in Washington, D.C., visit Like and follow the Tewaaraton Foundation on Facebook at and on Twitter at

About the Tewaaraton Foundation
First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora - and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about the Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here