Hockey Team Hands Out Team Awards

Mike Hull

Mike Hull

April 17, 2012

WEST POINT, N.Y. - Senior Mike Hull was named the Henry "Hal" Beukema Award winner as the team's most valuable player as the Army hockey team distributed its annual honors during the team banquet inside the Regiment Room at the U.S. Military Academy Monday night.

In addition to Hull, seniors Kyle Maggard, Marcel Alvarez and Jon Greaney and freshman Mac Lalor also collected accolades during an emotional evening.

Army handed out its five awards, presented letters to each player and honored the 11-member senior class.

Hull, Maggard, Alvarez, Alex McRae, Mark Dube, Jack Barnes, Pat Ryan, Bryant Skarda, Bill Day, Danny Colvin and Bret Larson were lauded for their leadership, success on and off the field and for their contributions to the Army hockey program each of the past four seasons. Managers Greaney and Will Rust were honored as well.

Head coach Brian Riley, assistant coaches Trevor Large and Mike Warde and Director of Hockey Operations Tom Doran coordinated the event.

Hull, a forward from Grosse Point Woods, Mich., led the team with 17 assists and 25 points while posting eight goals. He scored three times on the power play as well and becomes the third straight forward to collect the highest Army award following in the footsteps of Eric Sefchik and Cody Omilusik. The awards honors Henry "Hal" Beukema who died in a plane crash in 1954 after attaining the rank of major. The team MVP award has been given out every year since 1955 and is voted on by team members.

Maggard, a forward from Columbus, Ohio, earned the prestigious Rotary International Ambassadorial Scholar Award and will pursue a Masters in Philosophy in Engineering for Sustained Development at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. He was presented with the Gunning Award for academic excellent. The award is named for Michael J. Gunning, a cadet letterman who died following a hit-and-run accident and is presented in recognition of the cadet who displays the qualities of academic excellence, selfless dedication to his teammates, a trusted friend and a player who demonstrates true love for the game. John Gunning, Michael's father, shared a few stories about his son before announcing Maggard as the winner. Maggard was one of six players to compete in all 34 games and scored five goals and distributed three assists.

Alvarez, a two-time team captain from Cleveland, Ohio, earned the Haggerty Award, named in honor of Paul Haggerty, a 1991 West Point graduate. Haggerty worked his way up from jayvee player to the first line and then served as an Army assistant coach. He died suddenly during a workout early in his coaching career. Paul's sons, Nic and Luke, presented Alvarez with the award after pointing out the similarities in their work ethic and commitment. Alvarez played in all 34 games during his senior season and posted 11 assists and three goals.

Greaney, a four-year manager, collected the Derek Hines Award. The award honors Hines, a scrappy and hard-nosed player who was a fan favorite and one of the most respected players in the locker room. It recognizes a person who has displayed an extraordinary amount of support to the Army hockey program and shares values that Derek did, cared more about giving than receiving and displayed great passion and love for the Army hockey family. Derek was killed in action in 2005.

Lalor, a defenseman from Needham, Mass., was honored with the Heinmiller Award. Presented to the team's outstanding freshman, it is named for John Heinmiller who was killed in a train accident following his freshman season. Lalor played in 31 games during his initial season, scored four goals and handed out six assists.

Before Riley closed the program, the captains for the 2012-13 season were announced. Defenseman Cheyne Rocha will serve as captain while forwards Andy Starczewski and Brian Schultz and goaltender Ryan Leets will serve as alternate captains. Rocha, Starczewski and Leets will all be seniors while Schultz will be a junior.

2012 Army Hockey Awards
Beukema Award: Mike Hull
Haggerty Award: Marcel Alvarez
Heinmiller Award: Mac Lalor
Gunning Award: Kyle Maggard
Hines Award: Jon Greaney

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here