Hockey Team Hands Out Team Awards

Andy Starczewski

Andy Starczewski

April 16, 2013

2012-13 Army Hockey Awards Banquet Photo Gallery Photo Gallery

WEST POINT, N.Y.  - Andy Starczewski was named the Henry "Hal" Beukema Award winner and four others players and an administrator were honored when the Army hockey team distributed its awards as its annual banquet, inside the Regiment Room at the U.S. Military Academy Monday night.

Starczewski earned the team's most valuable player award while John Clark, Ryan Leets, Cheyne Rocha, Joe Kozlak and Col. Ed Naessens were also honored. Starczewski, Clark, Leets, Rocha, Cody Ikkala, Jon Bobb and Matt Walsh, the seven-member senior class, were presented with accolades as well.

Head coach Brian Riley, with assistance from Tom Doran, Col. Wiley Thompson, the team's head Officer Representative and assistant coaches Trevor Large, Mike Warde and Eric Lang, distributed the team awards as well as varsity letters to all of the players and managers.

Starczewski, from Whitesboro, N.Y., concluded his Army career with a team-best 26 points. He scored a team-high 11 goals and handed out 15 assists to pace the Black Knights in scoring. He netted two power play tallies and one game-winning goal.

Starczewski is the fourth straight forward to win the award, joining Mike Hull, Eric Sefchik and Cody Omilusik. The award honors Henry "Hal" Beukema who died in a plane crash in 1954 after attaining the rank of major. The team MVP award has been given out every year since 1955 and is voted on by team members. Warde presented the award.

Clark, a defenseman from Baudette, Minn., won the first Major Tom Kennedy Award. Clark posted his first career goal this season and also handed out six assists while being whistled for just three penalties. This award is in memory of Major Tom Kennedy, a former Army player, Officer Representative and supporter of the Black Knights. The award is presented to a player who exemplifies the great characteristics of Major Kennedy: a hard worker with a team-first attitude who will do anything to help the team. The winner of this prestigious award goes to the team's unsung contributor who goes above and beyond to help his teammates and personifies what made "TK" such a great person. George Kennedy, Tom's older brother, presented the award.

Goalie Ryan Leets was presented with the Haggerty Award. Leets won four games this season with a 3.80 goals against average and .894 save percentage.  The Haggerty Award is named in honor of Paul Haggerty, a 1991 West Point graduate who worked his way up from junior varsity to the first line and then served as an Army assistant coach. He died suddenly during a workout early in his coaching career. Paul's, Luke, presented Leets with the award after pointing out the similarities in their work ethic and commitment.

Rocha, from Rye, N.H., earned the Gunning Award for academic excellence. The award is named for Michael J. Gunning, a cadet letterman who died following a hit-and-run accident and is presented in recognition of the cadet who displays the qualities of academic excellence, selfless dedication to his teammates, a trusted friend and a player who demonstrates true love for the game. John Gunning, Michael's father, shared a few stories about his son before announcing Rocha. Rocha, who won the prestigious Senior CLASS Award for his work on and off the ice and in the classroom, scored once and distributed three assists. John Gunning, Michael's father, presented the award.

Kozlak, from Duluth, Minn., was honored with the Heinmiller Award. Presented to the team's outstanding freshman, it is named for John Heinmiller who was killed in a train accident following his freshman season. Kozlak, an Atlantic Hockey Association All-Rookie Team selection, was third on the team in scoring with 17 points. He posted seven goals and 10 assists and netted two game-winning goals. Second Lt. Mike Hull presented the award.

Col. Naessens, who formerly served as the team's Head Officer Representative before transferring to the football team, was named the Derek Hines Award winner. The award honors Hines, a scrappy and hard-nosed player who was a fan favorite and one of the most respected players in the locker room. It recognizes a person who has displayed an extraordinary amount of support to the Army hockey program and shares values that Derek did, cared more about giving than receiving and displayed great passion and love for the Army hockey family. Derek was killed in action in 2005. Steve Hines, Derek's father, was on his way to West Point to present the award but had to return to his job as a Massachusetts State Trooper after the issues at the Boston Marathon.

After distributing team awards and varsity letters, Large announced that Brian Schultz would serve as captain for the 2013-14 season with Mac Lalor and Josh Richards serving as alternate captains.

2013 Army Hockey Awards
Beukema Award: Andy Starczewski
Haggerty Award: Ryan Leets
Heinmiller Award: Joe Kozlak
Gunning Award: Cheyne Rocha
Kennedy Award: John Clark
Hines Award: Col. Ed Naessens

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here