McKelvie, Meyer Chosen For AHA All-Decade Team

Zach McKelvie

Zach McKelvie

March 25, 2013


HAVERHILL, Mass.  – Zach McKelvie and Owen Meyer were among the 18 players selected when the Atlantic Hockey Association announced its 10th Anniversary Teams. Atlantic Hockey coaches, athletic directors, media and fans voted for the squads.

McKelvie, West Point Class of 2009, was chosen as a third-team defenseman. Meyer, West Point Class of 2010, was tabbed as a third-team forward.

Three forwards, two defensemen and a goalie were picked for each of the three teams.

McKelvie, a member of the Abbotsford Heat, the America Hockey League affiliate of the Calgary Flames, earned four letters and a host of honors during his West Point career. He played in 136 career games with 14 goals and 44 assists. He netted six power play goals as part of his 58 points.

McKelvie, from New Brighton, Minn., was a regular contributor to Army’s power play and penalty kill units and was among the team leaders in minutes played in all four of his seasons.

The 2008 AHA Defensemen of the Year, McKelvie was a two-time first team All-AHA choice and participated in the 2009 Frozen Four Skills Challenge.  He was also a two-time member of the AHA All-Academic Team.

Meyer, from Dundee, Ill., racked up 132 points over his career with 66 goals and 66 assists. He collected 28 power play goals and six short-handed tallies and was the team’s scoring leader in two of his four seasons.

Meyer posted three annual league honors being chosen to the All-Rookie Team, first team and second team all-league. He participated in the 2010 Frozen Four Skills Challenge.

Both McKelvie and Meyer played large roles when Army won the 2008 Atlantic Hockey Association regular season championship. McKelvie scored three power play goals that season while Meyer netted 21 goals and handed out 18 assists.

Atlantic Hockey 10th Anniversary Team
Cory Conacher, 2007-11, Forward,  Canisius College
Jacques Lamoureux, 2008-11, Forward, U.S. Air Force Academy
Eric Ehn, 2006-08, Forward, U.S. Air Force Academy
Tim Kirby, 2008-12, Defense, U.S. Air Force Academy
Dan Ringwald, 2006-10, Defense, Rochester Institute of Technology
Andrew Volkening, 2006-10, Goalie, U.S. Air Force Academy

Pierre-Luc O'Brien, 2003-07, Forward, Sacred Heart University
Ben Cottreau, 2004-08, Forward, Mercyhurst University
James Sixsmith, 2003-07, Forward, College of the Holy Cross
Jon Landry, 2003-07, Defense, College of the Holy Cross
Jamie Hunt, 2003-06, Defense, Mercyhurst University
Shane Madolora, 2006-10, Goalie, Rochester Institute of Technology

Brett Gensler, 2010-present, Forward, Bentley University
Paul Zanette, 2010-11, Forward, Niagara University
Owen Meyer, 2006-10, Forward, U.S. Military Academy
Zach McKelvie, 2005-09, Defense, U.S. Military Academy
Greg Flynn, 2006-09, Defense, U.S. Air Force Academy
Jared DeMichiel, 2009-12, Goalie, Rochester Institute of Technology

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here