Rocha Tabbed As Senior CLASS Award Finalist

Cheyne Rocha is one of 10 finalists

Cheyne Rocha is one of 10 finalists

Feb. 13, 2013

OVERALAND PARK, Kan.  – Army senior captain Cheyne Rocha is one of 10 student-athletes who were announced as finalists for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate hockey.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be a senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platforms in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Rocha was one of 20 nominees and was selected as a finalist by a media committee.

Fans will have a say in who the winner is and voting is now open at Fans have until March 25 to vote. Those totals will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner, which will be announced during the 2013 Frozen Four in Pittsburgh, Pa., April 11 and 13.

Rocha is Army’s first finalist for this award since Bryce Hollweg in 2008.

A three-time Atlantic Hockey Association Academic All-Star, Rocha posted the highest GPA among league defensemen as a junior and was named Student-Athlete of the Year.

A Dean’s List student in all seven of his semesters, Rocha was a Rhodes Scholar candidate, received the Distinguished Cadet Award for academic excellence three times and was a three-time winner of the Superintendent's Award for excellence for ranking in top five percent of class.

In addition to his work on the ice, Rocha was instrumental in beginning House of Blues, an awareness campaign for prostate cancer. Rocha coordinated the idea and it is now the preferred charity of Atlantic Hockey He is active with the Special Olympics and Neighborhood Knights, a team group that provides community service and volunteers with the Army Junior Black Knights hockey program.

2012-13 Senior CLASS Award Finalists
Brett Beebe, Western Michigan
Danny Biegda, Harvard
Kyle Bonis, Ferris State
Stephen Carew, Air Force
Alex Gerke, Connecticut
Ben Hanowski, St. Cloud State
Brendan Jamison, Robert Morris
Brandon Nunn, Holy Cross
Cheyne Rocha, Army
Steve Spinell, Miami

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here