Hojan-Clark & Webber Earn Bid To NCAA Qualifier

Senior Garrek Hojan-Clark earns fourth straight NCAA bid

Senior Garrek Hojan-Clark earns fourth straight NCAA bid

April 12, 2013

WEST POINT, N.Y. - Army gymnasts Hojan-Clark (pommel horse) and Kip Webber (all-around) were among an elite field of individuals selected to compete at the NCAA Men's Gymnastics National Qualifier on Thursday, April 19, at Rec Hall on the campus of Penn State University.

Named as alternates were Ikaika Jakub, Connor Venrick, Mike Tserkovnyuk and Michael York.

It is the fourth straight year that Hojan-Clark, a finalist for the Nissen-Emery Award, has qualified in his signature event.

Ranked No. 2 in the country on pommel horse with a 15.187 average after holding down the No. 1 spot for several weeks, Hojan-Clark lists first among the individual qualifiers. He is coming off of a winning performance at the Eastern College Athletic Conference Championships where he captured the pommel horse title for the second time in the last three years.

Webber shared the ECAC all-around title with William & Mary's Daniel Potemski after both scored an 82.85, and ranks second to him among the five NCAA all-around qualifiers. It is the third year Webber qualified for the NCAAs and second time he met the standard as an all-arounder.

As an all-arounder in 2011, Webber advanced from the pre-qualifying session to the finals session for the team championships in floor exercise and vault after placing third among the individual qualifiers to become the first Black Knight to more forward since 2006.

The Army junior is ranked ninth nationally as an all-arounder (82.37 average) and lists among the top 50 on still rings (26th/14.775), floor exercise (30th/14.725) and vault (49th/14.462).

Tabbed as alternates are Venrick (13.912) and Tserkovnyuk (13.75) on pommel horse, Jakub on still rings (13.975) and vault (14.412) and York (13.9) on high bar. Jakub qualified as an all-arounder in 2011 and met the standard on still rings in 2012 along with Tserkovnyuk on pommel horse.

There will be two pre-qualifying sessions with Hojan-Clark and Webber competing in the first session on April 19 at 1 p.m. Each session features six of the 12 qualifying teams, six all-arounders and six of 12 event specialists.

Three teams and the top three all-around competitors not on one of the qualifying teams, plus the top three individuals on each event not already qualified on a team or as an all-around competitor, will advance from each pre-qualifying session to the finals session Friday, April 20th, which serves as the team championship and all-round champion. Individual finals will take place on Saturday, April 21st.

The 12 qualifying teams are Penn State, Oklahoma, Michigan, Stanford, Ohio State, Minnesota, Illinois, Iowa, California, Nebraska, Air Force and Temple. Illinois is the defending team champion with Oklahoma finishing second and Penn State third.

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here