Zalneraitis A Candidate For Academic Honor

Holt Zalneraitis

Holt Zalneraitis

Oct. 2, 2013

DALLAS – Army football player Holt Zalneraitis is among the candidates for the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Awards and a semifinalist for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, it was announced today.

Zalneraitis, a senior defensive lineman from Round Rock, Texas, is one of 170 players who were nominated nationally with at least a 3.2 grade-point average, make a significant contribution to the football team and demonstrate strong leadership and citizenship.

The 2013 NFF National Scholar-athletes Awards are presented by Fidelity Investments while the prestigious Campbell Trophy, is endowed by HealthSouth and recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation. Army’s Andrew Rodriguez won the award in 2011.

“We take great pride in the record participation by the number of schools in the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program this year,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (William V. Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “It is important for us to showcase that success on the football field starts with winners in the classroom and the community. This year’s record-breaking number of nominations further illustrates the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Zalneraitis boasts a 4.02 GPA as a Life Science major. In addition to playing in all five games this season with eight tackles and a sack, he is participating in medical school interviews. He is one of 39 nominees with a 3.8 GPA or better.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, Oct. 31. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored Dec. 10 during the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy.

Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient’s grant by $7,000 for a total post-graduate scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program’s all-time distributions to more than $10.4 million.

The past recipients of the William V. Campbell Trophy include: Air Force’s Chris Howard (1990); Florida’s Brad Culpepper (1991); Colorado’s Jim Hansen (1992); Virginia’s Thomas Burns (1993); Nebraska’s Rob Zatechka (1994); Ohio State’s Bobby Hoying (1995); Florida’s Danny Wuerffel (1996); Tennessee’s Peyton Manning (1997); Georgia’s Matt Stinchcomb (1998); Marshall’s Chad Pennington (1999); Nebraska’s Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000); Miami’s (Fla.); Joaquin Gonzalez (2001); Washington University in St. Louis’ Brandon Roberts (2002); Ohio State’s Craig Krenzel (2003); Tennessee’s Michael Munoz (2004); LSU’s Rudy Niswanger (2005); Rutgers’ Brian Leonard (2006); Texas’ Dallas Griffin (2007); Cal’s Alex Mack (2008); Florida’s Tim Tebow (2009); Texas’ Sam Acho (2010); Army’s Andrew Rodriguez (2011); and Alabama’s Barrett Jones (2012).

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here