Army Places Six In NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Alex Carlton's 36 field goals are the second most in Academy history.

Alex Carlton's 36 field goals are the second most in Academy history.

May 2, 2012

WEST POINT, N.Y.  -  Army seniors Alex Carlton, Max Jenkins, Brad Kelly, Chad Littlejohn, Mike McDermott and Andrew Rodriguez have been honored as members of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) 2012 Hampshire Honor Society. The list is comprised of college football players from all divisions who were starters or significant contributors, and maintained a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.2 while completing their eligibility.

A total of 722 players from 232 schools qualified for membership in the program's sixth year. Army's six selections marked a program best and were the most among the service academies.

Carlton, Army's primary placekicker for the last three seasons, finished his career ranked third on the Black Knights' all-time list with 87 extra points. His 93.5 percent accuracy rate on PAT tries is the sixth-best in Academy history. Carlton's 36 career field goals represent the second-best total by an Army player. Carlton will graduate in May with a degree in Civil Engineering and will enter the Engineers branch of the U.S. Army.

Jenkins served as a team captain in 2011 and started two games at quarterback. In nine total games last season, he rushed for 119 yards and four touchdowns, while throwing for 97 yards and two scores. He is currently serving as the Deputy Brigade Commander, the second-highest position in the U.S. Corps of Cadets chain of command. Jenkins is scheduled to graduate this spring with a degree in Engineering Management. He will be commissioned as a second lieutenant in the Infantry branch of the U.S. Army.

Kelly, an offensive tackle, played in 11 games last season. He drew six starting assignments, helping open holes for the nation's No. 1 ranked rushing offense at 346.5 yards per game. For his career, he played in 35 contests and earned three varsity letters. Kelly will graduate with a degree in Engineering Management and be commissioned in the Infantry branch of hte U.S. Army.

Littlejohn, who played both linebacker and defensive line, appeared in 19 games during his career, including seven starts. He recorded 33 tackles, including 3.0 tackles for loss. An Engineering Management major, Littlejohn will join the Engineers branch of the U.S. Army following graduation.

McDermott played in all 12 games on the Army offensive line last season, including nine starts at offensive tackle. He blocked for the unit that racked up 4,158 total rushing yards, setting an Academy single-season record. McDermott will graduate this spring with a degree in Systems Engineering and be commissioned in the Field Artillery branch of the U.S. Army.

Rodriguez completed his West Point career as one of the Black Knights' most decorated players. A first-team Academic All-America selection in 2011, Rodriguez earned the NFF's William V. Campbell Trophy as the top football scholar-athlete in the nation. He later became the third Army player to capture the AAU's James E. Sullivan Award as the nation's top amateur athlete. Rodriguez totaled 144 tackles, two forced fumbles and four fumble recoveries in 24 career games. Rodriguez, who entered the spring semester as the third-ranked cadet in the Class of 2012, will graduate with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and enter the Infantry branch of the U.S. Army.

The Black Knights have now had 13 players included in the honor society since the NFF began the program in 2007.

Army returns 14 players that started at least six games in 2011 and 34 players that started at least one game a year ago. The Black Knights welcome back their top seven rushers from last season's team that led the country in rushing yards per game, and 2012 will mark the first time in program history the Black Knights have returned two players who have rushed for 1,000 yards in a season (Jared Hassin, 2010; Raymond Maples, 2011). The Army defense returns 13 of its top 16 tacklers from 2011, including a group that combined for 15.0 of Army's 18.0 quarterback sacks.

Army Hampshire Society Inductees

2007 Pete Bier, Mike Castelli, Justin Koenig, Austin Miler
2008 Connor Wicklund
2009 Lowell Garthwaite
2011 Carson Homme, Jordan Trimble
2012 Alex Carlton, Max Jenkins, Brad Kelly, Chad Littlejohn, Mike McDermott, Andrew Rodriguez
Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here