Spiker A Candidate For Mid-Major Coaching Honor

Zach Spiker is a candidate for both the Skip Prosser Man of the Year and Hugh Durham Awards.

Zach Spiker is a candidate for both the Skip Prosser Man of the Year and Hugh Durham Awards.

March 13, 2013

BOSTON, Mass.  – Army men’s basketball coach Zach Spiker added his name to another award list Wednesday when he was announced as a finalist for the 2013 Hugh Durham Award. The honor is presented annually to the nation’s top mid-major head coach.

The 2013 Patriot League Coach of the Year, Spiker is also a finalist for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award which honors those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well.

Spiker earned the Patriot League’s top coaching honor after guiding the Black Knights to an Academy record eight conference wins and their first winning season in Patriot League play. Army’s final record of 16-15 marked the program’s first winning season since 1984-85. The Black Knights also posted school records with five straight Patriot League wins and four consecutive Patriot League road victories.

Since taking the reins of the West Point program prior to the 2009-10 season, Spiker has joined Bob Knight, Mike Krzyzewski and George Hunter as the only coaches in Army history to win at least 50 games in their first four seasons. His “Star Game” victory over arch-rival Navy in February also put him alongside Krzyzewski as the last two Army coaches to capture at least two consecutive “Star Game” wins. Spiker has won the contest three times in his first four seasons.

The other finalists for the Hugh Durham Award are Jim Baron (Canisius), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Bill Coen (Northeastern), Keith Dambrot (Akron), Kermit Davis (Middle Tennessee), Billy Donlon (Wright State), Andy Enfield (Florida Gulf Coast), Anthony Evans (Norfolk State), Chris Holtmann (Gardner-Webb), Danny Kaspar (Stephen F. Austin), Matt Matheny (Elon), Joe Mihalich (Niagara), Jim Molinari (Western Illinois), LeVelle Moton (North Carolina Central), Steve Pikiell (Stony Brook), Joe Scott (Denver), Pat Skerry (Towson), Wayne Tinkle (Montana), Tod Kowalczyk (Toledo) and Michael White (Louisiana Tech).

The Hugh Durham Award is named in honor of Hugh Durham who had retired at the end of the 2004-05 season. Durham is one of just twelve coaches to have led two different programs to the NCAA Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983).

The winner will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com awards banquet in Atlanta during the NCAA Final Four.

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here