Zach Spiker Named A Prosser Award Finalist

2013 Patriot League Coach of the Year Zach Spiker

2013 Patriot League Coach of the Year Zach Spiker

March 12, 2013

BOSTON, Mass.  – Army men’s basketball coach Zach Spiker has been named a finalist for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award. The 2013 Patriot League Coach of the Year is one of 20 candidates for the honor, which will be announced at the awards banquet in Atlanta during the NCAA Final Four.

Spiker earned the Patriot League’s top coaching honor after guiding the Black Knights to an Academy record eight conference wins and their first winning season in Patriot League play. Army’s final record of 16-15 marked the program’s first winning season since 1984-85. The Black Knights also posted school records with five straight Patriot League wins and four consecutive Patriot League road victories.

Since taking the reins of the West Point program prior to the 2009-10 season, Spiker has joined Bob Knight, Mike Krzyzewski and George Hunter as the only coaches in Army history to win at least 50 games in their first four seasons. His “Star Game” victory over arch-rival Navy in February also put him alongside Krzyzewski as the last two Army coaches to capture at least two consecutive “Star Game” wins. Spiker has won the contest three times in his first four seasons.

The Skip Prosser Award was established in 2008 to honor those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well. Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola (Md.), Xavier and Wake Forest.

The other finalists for the honor include John Beilein (Michigan), Tony Bennett (Virginia), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Kermit Davis (Middle Tennessee), Billy Donlon (Wright State), Jim Engles (NJIT), Steve Fisher (San Diego State), John Gallagher (Hartford), Anthony Grant (Alabama), Ben Jacobson (Northern Iowa), Jim Larranaga (Miami), Ryan Marks (UT-Pan American), Bob McKilop (Davidson), Joe Mihalich (Niagara), Dave Paulsen (Bucknell), Brett Reed (Lehigh), Bob Thomason (Pacific), John Thompson III (Georgetown) and Bruce Weber (Kansas State).

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here