McKague, Rowley And Watkins Named ECAC All-Stars

Kevin McKague

Kevin McKague

June 27, 2012

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - Three members of the record-setting Army baseball team were honored by the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) on Wednesday when the organization unveiled its 2012 Division I Baseball All-Star Team.

Senior first baseman Kevin McKague was the lone Army player selected to the first team, while junior right-handed pitcher Chris Rowley and senior catcher J.T. Watkins were both tabbed to the second unit.

It marks the first time since 2009 that Army has been represented on the ECAC All-Star Team, and the first time since 2004 that three Black Knights have been honored in the same year. Army has accumulated a total of 12 ECAC All-Star certificates since the conference began naming the teams in 1993.

McKague earned the first-team nod at first base after leading the Patriot League with a .379 batting average, a .475 on-base percentage, 75 base hits, 16 doubles and 106 total bases. He also ranked tied for third in the conference with five home runs.

The Fayetteville, N.C., native re-wrote the Army history books during his stellar career on the diamond. McKague, who was named the 2012 Patriot League Player of the Year, leaves the Academy as the program's all-time leader in base hits (283), doubles (55), multiple-hit games (87), total bases (414), games played (210), games started (207), times hit by pitch (39) and at-bats (796).

Rowley, meanwhile, finished the season with a gaudy 11-1 record to go along with a microscopic 2.40 earned run average. He ranked seventh in the nation with 11 victories, third in WHIP (0.88), ninth in hits allowed per nine innings (5.92) and 10th in complete games (six). The third-year hurler struck out 80 batters and walked only 22 in 97.1 innings pitched over 15 starts.

The Duluth, Ga., native established or tied single-season Academy standards for wins (11), shutouts (five), consecutive shutouts (four), consecutive scoreless innings (29), consecutive innings without giving up an earned run (29), innings pitched (97.1) and games started (15).

Watkins, who was named to the All-Patriot League first team this spring, batted .316 this season with five home runs, nine doubles and 31 runs batted in. He finished with a .481 slugging percentage and a .390 on-base percentage.

A two-time All-Patriot League selection, Watkins holds Academy career and single-season records for percentage of base runners thrown out. Watkins batted .310 during his career with 10 home runs, 22 doubles and 104 RBI. He was named to the Watch List for the Johnny Bench Award each of the last two seasons.

McKague and Watkins, who were commissioned as second lieutenants in the U.S. Army during West Point's commencement exercises last month, will continue their baseball careers after both were drafted in the Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft. McKague was picked by the Atlanta Braves in the 23rd round, while Watkins was taken by the Boston Red Sox with a 10th-round selection.

Rowley, meanwhile, is playing for the Peninsula Pilots of the Coastal Plain League this summer in order to get geared up for the 2013 campaign.

2012 ECAC Division I Baseball All-Stars
First Team

Catcher: Pat Cantwell, Sr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
First Base: Kevin McKague, Sr., Army (Patriot League)
Second Base: Maxx Tissenbaum, Jr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
Shortstop: Ryan Kresky, Sr., Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)
Third Base: Patrick Kivlehan, Sr., Rutgers (Big East Conference)
Outfield: Travis Jankowski, Jr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
Outfield: Danny Poma, Sr., Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)
Outfield: Jeremy Baltz, Jr., St. John's (Big East Conference)
Designated Hitter: Mike Tirri, Sr., Albany (America East Conference)
Utility: Matt Holsman, Sr., Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)
Pitcher: Tyler Johnson, RHP, Sr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
Pitcher: Marcus Stroman, RHP, Jr., Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Second Team
Catcher: J.T. Watkins, Sr., Army (Patriot League)

First Base: Ryan Haas, Jr., Delaware State (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)
Second Base: Jeff Reynolds, Sr., Harvard (Ivy League)
Shortstop: Joe Sclafani, Sr., Dartmouth (Ivy League)
Third Base: Will Carmona, Jr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
Outfield: Jeff Roy, So., Rhode Island (Atlantic-10 Conference)
Outfield: Dario Pizzano, Jr., Columbia (Ivy League)
Outfield: Ian Parmley, Sr., Liberty (Big South Conference)
Designated Hitter: Matt Fleishman, Sr., Villanova (Big East Conference)
Utility: Brig Tison, Sr., George Mason (Colonial Athletic Association)
Pitcher: Pat Light, RHP, Jr., Monmouth (Northeast Conference)
* Pitcher: Chris O'Grady, Relief, Jr., George Mason (Colonial Athletic Association)
* Pitcher: Chris Rowley, RHP, Jr., Army (Patriot League)
* Denotes tie in the voting to create an extra All-Star spot for the position

Player of the Year: Danny Poma, OF, Sr., Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Conference)
Pitcher of the Year: Tyler Johnson, RHP, Sr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
Rookie of the Year: Cole Peragine, IF, Fr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)
Coach of the Year: Matt Senk, Stony Brook (America East Conference)

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here