Price Earns Rawlings Gold Glove

Zach Price

Zach Price

June 26, 2012

OMAHA, Neb. - Zach Price, who has collected several postseason awards over the past two months, added yet another accolade to his mantle on Tuesday when it was announced that the Army second baseman earned a Rawlings Gold Glove, an award presented annually to the best defensive players at each position at the college level.

Price, who finished the season with a sparkling .996 fielding percentage, becomes the first Army player to earn a Rawlings Gold Glove in the brief six-year history of the award. The scrappy second baseman committed just one error in 284 chances, helping the Black Knights establish a single-season Academy record for fielding percentage (.975).

The Cantonment, Fla., native also sparked the Army offense this season, finishing with a .324 batting average in 56 starts. Price led the Patriot League with 51 runs scored, ranked second in the conference with 70 base hits and 20 stolen bases, and finished fifth in the league with 84 total bases, 27 walks and a .424 on-base percentage. His 70 hits this season list tied for 10th on Army's single-season list, while his 50 runs scored stand sixth on the Black Knights' single-season ledger.

Price, who leaves the Academy as the Patriot League's career walks leader (125), finished his prolific career tied atop Army's all-time runs scored ledger (174). He also lists third in Academy history with 241 career base hits and fourth with 55 stolen bases.

A standout in the classroom, Price graduated with a 3.732 grade point average in systems engineering. A mainstay on the Dean's List throughout his four-year West Point career, he was named a Distinguished Cadet following each semester for maintaining a GPA of 3.67 or higher. Price was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the United States Army during commencement exercises at West Point last month. He will serve in the Field Artillery branch in Fort Carson, Colo.

The Rawlings Gold Glove has been the standard for outstanding defensive play in the Major Leagues for the past 55 years. This year marks the sixth season for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award with the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA).

The ABCA All-American Committees select the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in their respective divisions. Every college and high school coach in the country has the opportunity to participate through his respective regional chair.

Nine Players from each division (NCAA I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College I, II and III) are announced at the respective site of each division's national championship. Each winner receives the Rawlings Gold Glove Award similar to the MLB award. Each recipient's school also receives the award for permanent display.

2012 Rawlings Division l Gold Glove Winners
C - Spencer Kieboom, Jr., Clemson
1B - Nick Judkins, Sr., Creighton
2B - Zach Price, Sr., Army
SS - Zach Vincej - Jr., Pepperdine
3B - Sherman Johnson, Sr., Florida State
OF - Beau Amaral, Jr., UCLA
OF - Travis Jankowski, Jr., Stony Brook
OF - Jason Kanzler, Jr., Buffalo
P - Corey Littrell, So., Kentucky

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here