Baseball Hands Out Team Awards

Nick Dignacco

Nick Dignacco

May 27, 2014

WEST POINT, N.Y.  – The celebration of a Patriot League regular season championship, 33 victories, a series win against Navy and participation in the first night game at Doubleday Field were among the highlights as the Army baseball team gathered for its year-end banquet, Monday evening in Kimsey Center.

Interim head coach Matt Reid served as master of ceremonies and along with assistant coaches Anthony DeCicco, Eric Folmar and Matt Smith, handed out a slew of awards and varsity letters during a look back on the 2014 season.

Nick Dignacco was named team most valuable player, Jon Crucitti won the Doubleday Award for the second consecutive season and Gunnar Carroll collected the Steve Reich Award. In addition, varsity letters were presented to the team members and the seven senior members of the team were honored several times. Awards were voted on by team members.

Rod Vitty, a 1955 West Point graduate who threw a no-hitter his senior season, presented the Doubleday Award to Crucitti, a senior outfielder from Mooresville, N.C. Crucitti hit .289, scored 34 runs, collected 48 hits, and knocked in 20 runs.

Dignacco, a left-handed pitcher from Sharon, Conn., was named the Red Reeder Award winner as team MVP. Dignacco was 6-3 with a 2.34 earned run average. He struck out 79 and walked just 17 in 80.2 innings of work.

The Steve Reich Award, which rewards drive, passion, commitment, courage and leadership went to Carroll, a two-time team captain. A relief pitcher his first three seasons, Carroll moved to a starting role in 2014. He led the squad with an 8-3 mark and showed a 2.20 ERA. He collected 52 strikeouts and 12 walks in 82 innings pitched.

Freshmen Kris Linder, Johnny Griffith, Daniel Caniano, Carson Meadows, Baggio Saldivar, David Monge and Alex Dickerson, sophomores Garrison Franklin, Ben Smith, Justin Reese, Grant Van Orden, Jack Verrill, Patrick Gardner, Justin French, John Malcolm, Jacob Page, Ryan Levenhagen and Brock Davidson and juniors Harold Earls, Daniel Cortes, Mark McCants, Alex Jensen, Alex Robinett, Brian Hapeman and Julian Larimer were presented varsity letters and stars for beating Navy.

Crucitti, Dignacco and Carroll, along with classmates Erik Washburn, Colin Briant, Patrick Mescher and Connor Love received varsity letters, gold stars, commemorative photos of the first night game at Doubleday Field and customized bats.

Army finished the season 33-18, including a 15-5 mark to share the Patriot League regular season championship.

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here