Four Black Knights Garner Honors At GARC Banquet

GARC Scholar Athlete Olivia Nardone

GARC Scholar Athlete Olivia Nardone

March 1, 2014

OXFORD, Miss. - Seniors Joseph Todaro, Michael Matthews and Richard Calvin combed for five all-conference certificates, and sophomore Olivia Nardone was named a Scholar-Athlete Friday evening at the Great America Rifle Conference (GARC) banquet. Rick Johnson was tabbed the GARC's Assistant Coach of the Year.

Todaro earned first-team honors in smallbore and was named to the second unit in the combined scoring. Matthews was a second-team pick in smallbore and honorable mention in the combined scoring, with Calvin earning second-team honors in air rifle. Nardone was one of eight Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

It is the first accolade for Johnson, who is in his third season on coach Ron Wigger's staff.

It is the third straight year that Todaro earned All-GARC honors in smallbore with his selection to the first team after earning second team and honorable mention honors in that event. It is also his first combined score recognition.

Matthews is a seven-time All-Conference selection after picking up two more certificates this year. He is a three-time All-Conference pick in smallbore (received first team and a pair of second-team certificates) and the combined scoring (second team and pair of honorable mentions), along with an honorable mention in air rifle.

Calvin is a four-time All-Conference selection with three second-team certificates in air rifle, along with honorable mention in the combined scoring.

The awards were presented on the eve of the 21014 GARC Championships being held Saturday (March 1) and Sunday (March 2) at the Patricia C. Lamar Readiness Center.

Regular-season champion West Virginia is also the defending GARC champion. The top two teams in the conference, West Virginia and Kentucky, ranked No. 1 and 2, respectively, combined for 20 all-conference honors. The Mountaineers earned a combined 14 certificates and Kentucky had six plus garnering three of the six major awards in Shooter of the Year (Emily Holsopple), Rookie of the Year (Sonya May) and Senior of the Year (Emily Holsopple).

Butch Woolbright of Memphis was named Coach of the Year with Nebraska earning the Sportsmanship Award.

Ole Miss, along with West Virginia, Kentucky, Army, Navy, NC State, Nebraska, and Memphis, make up the conference. Akron, who will officially join the conference next year, is competing this weekend as well.

Fans will be able to follow the action through live stats on Mississippi's website.

Army GARC Honors


First Team - Joseph Todaro

Second Team - Michael Matthews

Air Rifle

Second Team - Richard Calvin


Second team - Joseph Todaro

Honorable Mention - Michael Matthews

Scholar Athlete

Olivia Nardone

Knight Vision


SHOP NOW at the
Official Online Store




    Click Here