Peter Miller Dawkins
Peter Miller Dawkins

Class of 1959

One of the most dynamic players in Army football history, Pete Dawkins became the third Army player to win the Heisman Trophy Award when he claimed the prestigious honor in 1958. Dawkins was selected a First Team All-American, and named Player of Year by the Maxwell Club, Sports Illustrated and Sport magazines that year as well.

A two-time First Team Academic All-American (1957-58), Dawkins served as Class President and Cadet Brigade Commander in 1958 and was a member of Army's last undefeated football team.

In addition to his football prowess, Dawkins graduated as Army's leading career scorer among defensemen in hockey, earning three varsity letters in that sport. He was named a Rhodes Scholar recipient in 1959.

A former White House Fellow, Dawkins received the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award in 1983. He was elected to the Academic All-America Hall of Fame in 1988, inducted into the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame in 1975 and presented the Doak Walker Legends Award in 2000.