Army Athletics Holds 2014 Black Knight Awards

Photo Gallery | Blooper Reel 1 | Blooper Reel 2

May 22, 2014

WEST POINT, N.Y. - The Army Athletic Association held the 2014 Black Knight Awards ceremony on Thursday night at Robinson Auditorium in Thayer Hall. The department's premiere year-end event honored teams and individuals for a banner 2013-14 season that saw the top win percentage since 2004-05 and the Black Knights winning the annual Army-Navy Star Series for the first time in nearly a decade. Following the program's second NCAA Division I Tournament berth, women's basketball took home Team of the Year, the highest honor of the evening for the second year in a row.

In its seventh year of existence, the Black Knight Awards honor the best that Army's 25 athletic teams had to offer in 2013-14 in an award-show format similar to the ESPY Awards. Rich DeMarco, assistant athletic director for multimedia and broadcasting, emceed the event and guided an audience that included West Point Superintendent Lt. Gen. Robert Caslen, Commandant of Cadets Brig. Gen. Richard Clarke, Dean of the Academic Board Brig. Gen. Timothy Trainor and Army Director of Athletics Boo Corrigan.

Corrigan opened the night by distributing commemorative Athletic Director's coins to a large group of league major award winners, scholar-athletes, All-Americans, Academic All-Americans and NCAA participants.

The first three awards of the evening featured winners with a passion for sport, selflessness and giving back. Senior Mike Santee of the Army hockey team was a unanimous decision for the Community Service Award for his efforts in handling team events such as Neighborhood Knights, House of Blues and the team's work with Team IMPACT. Women's tennis sister pair Della and Elle Taylor collected the Maggie Dixon Inspiration Award for their fearless competitiveness and love of sport. Men's soccer senior Jason Lewis garnered the Gene Uchacz Memorial Award for being the epitome of a "team player."

The remaining awards were distributed on athletic performance alone during the 2013-14 season. Three finalists for each category were highlighted through a video presentation leading into each award with the majority including a men's and women's category. The evening followed with awards for Rookie of the Year, Yearling of the Year, Cow of the Year, Firstie of the Year, Performance of the Year and Play of the Year. All of the winners were presented with a marble Black Knight Award for their accomplishments.

Votes were tabulated using a combination of Facebook, athletic department committee and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

2014 Black Knight Award Winners

Community Service Award
Mike Santee (Hockey)

Maggie Dixon Inspiration Award
Della & Elle Taylor (Women's Tennis)

Gene Uchacz Memorial Award
Jason Lewis (Men's Soccer)

Play of the Year
Watch Video
Larry Dixon (Football) - 30-yard touchdown run vs. Eastern Michigan

Men's Performance of the Year
Watch Video
Peter Kim (Golf) - Taking first place at the Patriot League Championship

Women's Performance of the Year
Watch Video
Kelsey Minato (Women's Basketball) - Scoring 49 points vs. Holy Cross

Men's Rookie of the Year
Watch Video
Peter Kim (Golf)

Women's Rookie of the Year
Watch Video
Olivia Fairfield (Volleyball)

Men's Yearling of the Year
Watch Video
Kyle Wilson (Basketball)

Women's Yearling of the Year
Watch Video
Kelsey Minato (Basketball)

Men's Cow of the Year
Watch Video
John Glesener (Lacrosse)

Women's Cow of the Year
Watch Video
Elle Taylor (Tennis)

Men's Firstie of the Year
Watch Video
Kip Webber (Gymnastics)

Women's Firstie of the Year
Watch Video
Molly McGuigan (Soccer)

Team of the Year
Watch Video
Women's Basketball